Only those who know great wines can make great wines.

Our view into the distance still inspires our work by the river Nahe, just as it always has done. The Pieroth family has felt at home around the globe from early on, travelling constantly to the most beautiful wine locations on earth. True cosmopolitans, in fact. Nothing has changed in this respect. As ambassadors for the Nahe region and also for German wine as a whole, we allow our experience and enthusiasm to flow into the character of our own wines.

The Pieroth Estate on the Nahe

The Pieroth family’s estate, located in the very centre of the village of Burg Layen, is an inspiring place packed with history. The Pieroth family settled in the Nahe region back in 1675 and started to sell great wines at the beginning of the 20th century.

In the Magic Triangle

At the confluence of the Rhine and the Nahe, in the magical triangle formed by the wine-producing regions of Rheingau, Rheinhessen and Nahe, various terroirs come together in a way unlike anywhere else in Germany. There are 180 varieties of soil in the tightest possible space here. This is unique in Germany and rare even in Europe.

Pieroth Estate
Pieroth Estate

Unique soil diversity

The variety of this range of soil structures is reflected in our locations. The terroir of the Pieroth estate is defined predominantly by five types of soil. In combination with other soil structures, this creates a complex variation of soils.

Five
out of
180

Conglomerate

Coarse-grained, easily warmed sedimentary rock washed down from the Hunsrück mountains into the Nahe plain 280 million years ago. Consists of at least 50% gravel or scree.

Creates subtle aromas of peach, apricot and yellow apple
Conglomerate

Quartzite

River sediments aged into sandstone. A very hard rock created through the high pressure and temperature when the mountains were formed.

The subtlest hints of peach and apricot and striking fruit acidity
Quarzite

Loess

A rich, fertile soil that is found on almost all the sides of the Nahe valley. Fertile dust and humus from the tundra was carried to the front of the Hunsrück massif in the Ice Age.

Robust, full-bodied wines. Yellow-ripe fruits such as Mirabelle plums and pears predominate
Loam

Shale

A crumbly, coloured rock revealed along the lower parts of the Nahe when the sea receded. Intensive weathering wore down the hard shale.

Aromas of lemon, grapefruit, peach with a characteristic herby note
Shale

Gravel-sandy loam

A light soil that retains moisture well. Originating in the Ice Age, when melt waters tore away the stone, creating deep river valleys. Today, the oldest gravel terraces are 80 to 100 m above the current river level.

Delicate, lively wines with a fragrance of yellow apple, lemon and grapefruit
Gravel-sandy loam
Conglomerate

Conglomerate

Coarse-grained, easily warmed sedimentary rock washed down from the Hunsrück mountains into the Nahe plain 280 million years ago. Consists of at least 50% gravel or scree.

Creates subtle aromas of peach, apricot and yellow apple
Quarzite

Quartzite

River sediments aged into sandstone. A very hard rock created through the high pressure and temperature when the mountains were formed.

The subtlest hints of peach and apricot and striking fruit acidity
Loam

Loess

A rich, fertile soil that is found on almost all the sides of the Nahe valley. Fertile dust and humus from the tundra was carried to the front of the Hunsrück massif in the Ice Age.

Robust, full-bodied wines. Yellow-ripe fruits such as Mirabelle plums and pears predominate
Shale

Shale

Mürbes, gefärbtes Gestein, das durch das zurückgezogene Meer an der unteren Nahe freigelegt wurde. Intensive weathering wore down the hard shale.

Aromas of lemon, grapefruit, peach with a characteristic herby note
Gravel-sandy loam

Gravel-sandy loam

A light soil that retains moisture well. Originating in the Ice Age, when melt waters tore away the stone, creating deep river valleys. Today, the oldest gravel terraces are 80 to 100 m above the current river level.

Delicate, lively wines with a fragrance of yellow apple, lemon and grapefruit

The team

In the winery and the cellar, our craft is defined by what we do and what we don’t do.

Pieroth Team

Dirk
Friesenhahn

sets the course

Dirk is a trained master cooper and cellarer who has learned wine-making from the ground up. After gaining experience for many years in many well-known companies in the wine and sparkling wine industry (including Schloss Johannisberg, Henkel & Söhnlein, Seagram), he has now been with Pieroth for 17 years. He took over the management of the estate in 2019.

Dirk is fanatical about quality and takes his inspiration from his excellent contacts with many wine-makers from all over the world. Dirk’s curiosity and delight in making new discoveries are reflected not only in wine but also in his other great passion – cooking and food.

Oliver
Dries

is the creative artist

Oliver has wine in his blood. His family is part of a long wine-producing tradition, both with their own vineyards and with the Hessischen Staatsweingütern Kloster Eberbach – the vineyard of the Eberbach Monastery. As master cellarer of the Assmannshausen State Winery, Oliver was responsible here for the highest-quality wines. During subsequent steps in his career at well-known estates in the Rheingau and Kaiserstuhl region in Baden, Oliver was able to expand his knowledge by working with various terroirs and wine styles. This is reflected in his work with the Pieroth Estate, where he has been facing the challenges of the soil diversity along the Nahe since 2014 as Operations Manager in the vineyard and wine cellar.

Andreas
Gregori

in a daily battle with the elements

Andreas is a trained vintner and has been working with the Pieroth Estate for 17 years. He comes from a family of vintners in the Nahe region. With his expertise, he makes sure that everything runs just as it should do in our vineyards. In his leisure time, he is also closely connected to nature as a bee keeper, enjoying the various flavours of honey – the essence of the natural world around him – like wine.

Norbert
Sturm

in a daily battle with the elements

For Norbert, wine making runs in the family and so his career path to becoming a master wine maker was mapped out almost from the start. Norbert’s passion for nature and for producing wine is just as intense today as it was at the beginning of his working life. His skill in handling soils and plants has formed the basis for our wines for 16 years now. If ever Norbert allows himself time off, he loves to tackle the elements by ship – with a good wine on board, of course.

Lennart
Friesenhahn

the right-hand man in the cellar

Lennart comes from a wine-producing family and continues with the family passion. Alongside his studies at the famous University of Viticulture in Geisenheim, he is gaining practical experience at the Pieroth Estate and supporting Oliver Dries in particular in his work in the cellar. A man with a truly individual mind, he loves to innovate and is interested in new concepts in wine making. Alongside wine, he likes to foster regional traditions, including the production of excellent “Äppelwois” (apple wine).

Pieroth
Wines

Great Riesling & Weißburgunder from exceptional locations form the focus of the wine portfolio.

Pieroth Wines
© 2019 Weingut Pieroth GmbH. All rights reserved.

Weingut Pieroth

Nur wer grosse Weine kennt, kann grosse Weine machen.

Damals wie heute inspiriert der Blick in die Ferne bei uns das Schaffen an der Nahe. Schon immer fühlte sich die Familie Pieroth in der Welt zuhause und bereiste die schönsten Weinspots der Erde. Eben echte Kosmopoliten. Daran hat sich bis heute nichts geändert. Als Botschafter für die Nahe aber auch für deutschen Wein insgesamt lassen wir unsere Erfahrung und Begeisterung in den Charakter unserer eigenen Weine einfließen.

Das Weingut Pieroth an der Nahe

Das Weingut der Familie Pieroth, mitten im Ortskern von Burg Layen gelegen, ist ein inspirierender Ort voller Geschichte. Bereits 1675 ließ sich die Familie Pieroth an der Nahe nieder und begann Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts mit dem Verkauf großer Weine.

Im magischen Dreieck

Am Zusammenfluss von Rhein und Nahe, im magischen Dreieck der Weinbauregionen Rheingau, Rheinhessen und Nahe, treffen, wie nirgendwo sonst in Deutschland, verschiedene Terroirs aufeinander. Hier gibt es auf engstem Raum 180 Bodenvarianten. Das ist einzigartig in Deutschland und rar in Europa.

Weingut Pieroth
Weingut Pieroth

Einzig­artige Boden­vielfalt

Die Vielzahl der unterschiedlichen Bodenstrukturen spiegelt sich in unseren Lagen wider. Fünf Bodenarten prägen vornehmlich das Terroir des Weinguts Pieroth. In Kombination mit weiteren Bodenstrukturen ergibt sich eine vielfältige Bodenvariation.

Fünf
aus
180

Konglomerat

Grobkörniges, leicht erwärmbares Sedimentgestein, das vor 280 Millionen Jahren aus dem Hunsrück in die Nahe-Ebene geschwemmt wurde. Besteht zu mindestens 50% aus Kies oder Geröll.

Bildet feine Aromen von Pfirsich, Aprikose und gelbem Apfel
Konglomerat

Quarzit

Zu Sandstein abgelagerte Flusssedimente. Sehr hartes Gestein, das durch hohen Druck und Temperatur bei der Gebirgsbildung entstand.

Feinste Pfirsich-Aprikosen-Nuancen und markante Fruchtsäuren
Quarzit

Löss

Fruchtbar, reicher Boden, der an fast allen Talflanken der Nahe zu finden ist. In der Eiszeit wurde fruchtbarer Staub und Humus der Tundra vor das Hunsrückmassiv befördert.

Kräftige, füllige Weine. Es dominieren gelbreife Früchte wie Mirabelle und Birne
Lehm

Tonschiefer

Mürbes, bunt gefärbtes Gestein, das durch das zurückgezogene Meer an der unteren Nahe freigelegt wurde. Intensive Verwitterung zermürbte den harten Schiefer.

Aromen von Zitrone, Grapefruit, Pfirsich & eine charakteristische kräutrige Note
Schiefer

Kiesig-sandiger Lehm

Leichter Boden und guter Wasserspeicher. Ursprung in der Eiszeit, Schmelzwasser reißt Gesteine mit und tiefe Bachtäler entstehen. Älteste Kiesterassen 80 bis 100 m über heutigem Flussniveau.

Filigrane, lebendige Weine, die nach gelbem Apfel, Zitrone und Grapefruit duften
Kies-sandiger Lehm
Konglomerat

Konglomerat

Grobkörniges, leicht erwärmbares Sedimentgestein, das vor 280 Millionen Jahren aus dem Hunsrück in die Nahe-Ebene geschwemmt wurde. Besteht zu mindestens aus 50% Kies oder Geröll.

Bildet feine Aromen von Pfirsich, Aprikosen und gelbem Apfel
Quarzit

Quarzit

Zu Sandstein abgelagerte Flusssedimente. Sehr hartes Gestein, das durch durch hohen Druck und Temperatur bei der Gebirgsbildung entstand.

Feinste Pfirsich-Aprikosen-Nuancen & markante Fruchtsäuren
Lehm

Löss

Fruchtbar, reicher Boden, der an fast allen Talflanken der Nahe zu finden ist. In der Eiszeit wurde fruchtbarer Staub & Humus der Tundra vor das Hunsrückmassiv befördert.

Kräftige, füllige Weine. Es dominieren gelbreife Früchte wie Mirabellen und Birne
Schiefer

Tonschiefer

Mürbes, gefärbtes Gestein, das durch das zurückgezogene Meer an der unteren Nahe freigelegt wurde. Intensive Verwitterung zermürbte den harten Schiefer.

Aromen von Zitrone, Grapefruit, Pfirsich & eine charakteristische kräutrige Note
Kies-sandiger Lehm

Kiesig-sandiger Lehm

Leichter Boden und guter Wasserspeicher. Ursprung in der Eiszeit, Schmelzwasser reißt Gesteine mit und tiefe Bachtäler entstehen. Älteste Kiesterassen 80 bis 100 m über heutigem Flussniveau.

Filigrane, lebendige Weine, die nach gelbem Apfel, Zitrone und Grapefruit duften

Das Team

Im Weinberg und im Keller bestimmen Tun und Lassen unser Handwerk.

Pieroth Team

Dirk
Friesenhahn

gibt die Richtung vor

Dirk ist ausgebildeter Weinküfer- und Kellermeister und hat das Weinmachen von der Pike auf gelernt. Nachdem er viele Jahre bei namhaften Betrieben der Wein- und Sektbranche (u.a. Schloss Johannisberg, Henkel & Söhnlein, Seagram) wertvolle Erfahrungen sammeln konnte, ist er nun bereits seit 17 Jahren bei Pieroth und hat 2019 die Leitung des Weinguts übernommen.

Dirk ist ein Qualitätsfanatiker, der durch seine guten Kontakte zu vielen Weinmachern aus der ganzen Welt Inspiration erhält. Die Neugier des Entdeckens erfreut Dirk nicht nur beim Wein, sondern auch bei seiner weiteren großen Leidenschaft dem Kochen und Essen.

Oliver
Dries

ist für die Kunst zuständig

Oliver hat Wein im Blut. Seine Familie hat eine lange Weinbautradition, sowohl mit eigenen Rebflächen, als auch bei den Hessischen Staatsweingütern Kloster Eberbach. Dort war Oliver als Kellermeister des Staatsweinguts Assmannshausen verantwortlich für Weine der Spitzenklasse. Auf seinen weiteren Stationen bei renommierten Weingütern im Rheingau und am Kaiserstuhl in Baden erweiterte Oliver sein Können durch die Arbeit mit verschiedenen Terroirs und Weinstilen. Dies zeigt sich in seiner Arbeit im Weingut Pieroth, in der er seit 2014 als Betriebsleiter im Keller und Weinbau sich der Herausforderung – der Bodenvielfalt an der Nahe – stellt.

Andreas
Gregori

im täglichen Kampf mit den Elementen

Andreas ist ausgebildeter Winzer und arbeitet seit 17 Jahren beim Weingut Pieroth. Er stammt aus einer Winzerfamilie an der Nahe. Mit seinem Fachwissen sorgt er für das richtige Tun und Lassen in unseren Weinbergen. Auch in seiner Freizeit ist er als Imker mit der Natur verbunden und genießt die verschiedenen Geschmacksrichtungen des Honigs – die Essenz der Natur der Umgebung – wie beim Wein.

Norbert
Sturm

im täglichen Kampf mit den Elementen

Norbert ist familiär dem Weinbau verbunden und so war seine berufliche Laufbahn zum Winzermeister fast schon vorgegeben. Die Leidenschaft für den Weinbau und die Natur ist bei Norbert heute noch genauso groß wie am Beginn seines Arbeitslebens. Bereits seit 16 Jahren legt sein gekonntes Bearbeiten von Böden und Pflanzen die Grundlage für unsere Weine. Wenn Norbert sich mal eine Auszeit gönnt, dann am liebsten den Elementen auf einem Schiff ausgeliefert, auf dem ein guter Wein nicht fehlen darf.

Lennart
Friesenhahn

die rechte Hand im Keller

Lennart stammt aus einer Weinbaufamilie und er setzt diese Leidenschaft fort. Neben seinem Studium an der renommierten Universität für Weinbau in Geisenheim sammelt er praktische Erfahrung beim Weingut Pieroth und unterstützt Oliver Dries insbesondere bei der Arbeit im Keller. Ein Charakterkopf, der innovativ denkt und an neuen Wegen im Weinbau interessiert ist. Spaß macht ihm neben Wein, das Pflegen der regionalen Brauchtümer und das Herstellen eines ausgesprochen guten „Äppelwois“ (Apfelwein).

Pieroth
Weine

Große Rieslinge & weiße Burgunder von besonderen Lagen bilden den Fokus des Weinportfolios.

Pieroth Weine